Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Wednesday’s Helping: Vegan vs. Vegetarian

One’s a variation of the other
Do you get these terms mixed up? It boils down to one’s specific eating choices. A vegetarian restricts his or her diet to the consumption of all foods except meat, poultry, fish, and seafood. Vegetarians must augment their veggie-only diet with protein-rich foods, such as tofu and beans. Meanwhile, a vegan is a type of vegetarian that further restricts his or her diet to exclude animal byproducts, such as milk, eggs, honey, and butter. Vegans also live a “lifestyle” that avoids the use of wool, leather, and silk. Many vegans or vegetarians become that way out of respect for animals, animal rights, and the environment. The Vegetarian Society in the United Kingdom was established in 1847. This is environmental consciousness exercised with knife and fork.

No comments:

Post a Comment